This article details the different ways admins can remove contacts (also known as leads) from
There are three ways admins can remove contacts in Hustle:
- Deactivate: The leads will no longer be included in goals launched in the group and can’t be messaged by agents. Admins can deactivate and reactivate contacts whenever they want and contacts can reactivate themselves by messaging agents in the group; deactivating contacts is reversible.
- Opt out: Contacts will no longer receive any messages from any goals launched in the organization. To reverse an opt out, an account admin will need to reach out to Hustle Customer Support with the leads phone number and the organization they were opted out from.
- Lead deletion: The contact will be removed from every organization in the account and identifiable information will be redacted. Deleting a lead from an account is not reversible. Deleted leads can be added back to an organization in the account.
For more information about the different permissions available to admins, see What are the different Hustle admin roles?
- How do I deactivate a contact?
- How do I opt out a contact?
- How do I delete a contact?
How do I deactivate a contact?
Deactivating a contact is helpful when the lead doesn’t want to receive texts from a particular group, but may still want to receive texts from the larger organization. Contacts who are deactivated will still be able to receive texts from other groups in the larger organization, but not from groups they’ve been deactivated from.
An example of when deactivating a contact may work better is when a contact moves and no longer wants to receive location specific messages.
Deactivating contacts is a great way to manage leads without the risk of permanently removing them. Additionally, if a contact texts back into the group they’ll be automatically reactivated.
Note: In the admin panel, contacts can only be reactivated manually. If an admin uploads a CSV file with a deactivated contact’s information into a Group they’re deactivated in, the contact won’t be reactivated.
There are two ways to deactivate and reactivate contacts in the admin panel; from the Contacts tab and while reviewing the conversations of an agent.
To make inactive, make active, or opt out a contact, follow these steps:
From the admin panel:
- Click Groups > the name of the group that has the contacts you want to manage.
- Click Contacts > search for the contacts you want to manage and click the box next to their name.
- Make Active: to reactivate a deactivated contact. If the contact is already active, nothing will change.
- Make Inactive: to deactivate a contact. If the contact is already deactivated, nothing will change.
- Click Save. You may need to refresh the page to see the changes applied.
Additionally, on the Contacts tab, admins can also review all of the deactivated leads in the group using the Status filter at the top of the list.
- Open the conversations of an agent who messaged the contact by clicking the agent’s name.
- Search for the contact you're looking to manage.
- Click the arrow next to Opt out > Deactivate or Reactivate depending on the status of a contact.
How do I opt out a contact?
When a contact asks to stop receiving any messages from an organization, they’ll need to be opted out.
When opting out a contact, admins and agents will be prompted to note an opt out reason using tags. Opt out reason tags help you keep track of why contacts are opting out of the organization. For more information, see How can I record an opt-out reason?
Note: Contacts can also opt themselves out by texting in an opt out keyword. For more information, see Opt out keywords. These keywords do not apply opt out reason tags.
How do I opt out a contact as an admin?
To opt out a contact as an admin:
- From the admin panel, click Groups > the name of the group that has the contacts that you want to opt out.
- Click Contacts > search for the contacts you want to opt out and click the box next to their name.
- Click Opt-out > Save. You may need to refresh the page to see the changes applied.
How do I opt out a contact as an agent?
To opt out a contact as an agent the mobile or web app:
- With the contact’s thread open, click Opt Out in the top right.
- Mark a reason why the Contact wants to be opted out. A tag will also be applied if an admin set up the opt out reason to tag the contact
- Note: An opt out reason isn’t necessary.
- Confirm the opt out on the following confirmation screen. You may need to refresh the page to see the changes applied.
For more information on on how to use the Hustle app, see:
How do I delete a contact?
If a contact requests an organization remove their data for privacy concerns, an account admin may determine the lead needs to be deleted.
Once a lead is deleted all of their Personally identifiable information (PII) gets removed from the account and only their opt out status will be maintained. The deletion of a contact can’t be reversed. Contacts that have been deleted will continue to appear in exports and reports with their PII redacted.
Note: Deleted leads can be re-added to an organization in the account. However, they’ll be added as a brand new contact and won’t have any previous data (message history, tags, etc.).
For more information about account admins, see What can account admins do?
To delete a contact:
- From the account overview page, click Compliance.
- Enter the phone number of the lead and click Redact Leads.
- Type I understand this cannot be undone into the field > Confirm redact PII from leads. A confirmation message will appear verifying the lead has been deleted.
Even though the lead has been deleted, their historical data will still be available in exports and reports with their PII redacted.