Hustle only uses 10-digit phone numbers to deliver texts on our platform -- the conversation and relationship should be real, so why not the number?
Phone Number assignments for your texts happen at the time a text is being sent out to the recipient -- that is, for the first time a contact is being texted within a group. (Even if the contact has been texted in another group within the same org, they will receive a text from a new number if they’ve just been added to the new group.) That phone number does not change unless the recipient is texted in an Assigned messaging strategy, and then is later reassigned to a new Agent in another Assigned messaging strategy. (Similarly, if someone is sent a message from an Anyone assigned goal, then an Assigned goal, that also changes the phone number.) This allows the conversation to thread properly for the contact within their text messages.
Due to the fact that number assignment happens at time of engagement with a contact within a Group, and because the numbers change for each group a contact is texted from, Hustle ensures that the threads people are texted from are relevant and up-to-date by retiring old numbers not used within 60 days. When this happens, Hustle moves the group to a deactivated status. In this way, these groups become much like a museum: the group becomes unusable where texts cannot be sent or received, but the old conversations can be viewed and searched. This also means new groups have to be made if those contacts need to be contacted again and there is not a currently active group addressing the contact.
You can confirm that a group has been made deactivated when all active buttons are removed as seen in this example, where it is not possible to add a new goal:
Deactivated groups are not able to be reconverted to active groups. To reengage with a contact, you will need to reach back out to them via a currently active group, or a new group.
Can't see a deactivated group that you know existed? Make sure to select status 'inactive' when managing your groups.
NOTE: When a group is made deactivated, while you can no longer text within that group, you may still text the contacts by exporting those contacts and adding them to a different (new or existing) group. A group being made deactivated does not affect group membership in other groups.
Preventing Deactivated State
To prevent a group from being automatically moved to the deactivated state, engage with your contacts in a specific group at least once every 60 days or less. This motion marks the group as active and no transition to the deactivated state will take place.
Once a group is deemed deactivated, the group may not be used again to send texts. In this case, you’ll need to export your contact list and create a new group to engage with them. When the new group is contacted, you’ll need to re-identify your organization to the contact as the number with which you contacted them will have changed.